Bread and pasta are out, but did you know that gluten could be lurking in your favourite salad dressing, soy sauce and even in chocolate? Here are 8 surprising foods that aren’t gluten free.
Of all the foods that aren’t gluten free, this may be the most tragic! Chocolate is sometimes mixed with ingredients that contain gluten and cross contamination can also occur if it’s made in a factory that uses gluten. Opt for 70% dark chocolate instead (after all, it’s good for you), and ALWAYS read the label to see if gluten is listed as an allergen.
2. Salad dressing and mayo
Many ready-made salad dressings use gluten as a thickening agent. Rather make your own delicious salad dressings using olive oil and vinegar (try balsamic, red wine or apple cider) as a base.
3. Gravies, stock cubes and powders and packaged sauce mixes
These contain gluten more often than not, so always read the ingredient list and look out for wheat and, of course, gluten. If you’re looking for gravy, stock or sauces that are guaranteed to be gluten free, check out our list of places that stock gluten-free products.
4. Flavoured coffees and hot chocolate
Although it doesn’t seem like gluten belongs in your hot chocolate, malt is often used as flavouring. And malt contains, you guessed it, gluten.
5. Canned soups
Canned soup may seem like a great option for an easy gluten-free dinner, but as with salad dressing, gluten is often used as a thickening agent. Rather make this tasty gluten-free tomato soup instead.
6. Some flavoured potato chips
Don’t panic, we said some! You don’t have to forgo all chips as potatoes are naturally gluten free, but some flavours may contain gluten in the seasoning.
7. Hot dogs and processed meats
Most processed meats, like hot dogs, contain gluten, so double check before you tuck in.
8. Soy Sauce
Soy sauce is traditionally made with wheat as well as soya beans. Look out for tamari, which is soy sauce that isn’t made with wheat — but make sure you check the label because some brands can still contain gluten.
DISCLAIMER: Before starting any diet, you should speak to your doctor. You must not rely on the information on this website/newsletter as an alternative to medical advice from your doctor or other professional healthcare provider.